top of page

States and Territories

Australia is broken up into seven states/territories, each with its own capital city, laws and parliament. The capital city of Australia is Canberra which houses the federal parliament.

All About Immigration | Sue Horne
  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
    Capital – Canberra

  • New South Wales (NSW)
    Capital – Sydney

  • Victoria (VIC)
    Capital – Melbourne

  • Queensland (QLD)
    Capital – Brisbane

  • Western Australia (WA)
    Capital – Perth

  • South Australia (SA)
    Capital – Adelaide

  • Northern Territory (NT)
    Capital – Darwin

  • Tasmania (TAS)
    Capital – Hobart

bottom of page