top of page


Australia’s laws and government are separated into three levels; local, state and federal, with each state having its own police force responsible for enforcing laws at all levels.

Citizens vote to elect their preferred leader at all levels of government.

  • Level – Local
    Body – Local or Regional Council
    Examples of Law – Land development, urban planning, city and regional management
    Leader – Mayor

  • Level – State
    Body – State Government
    Examples of Law – Natural resource management, education, health and transport.
    Leader – Premier

  • Level – Federal
    Body – Federal Government
    Examples of Law – Border protection, immigration and citizenship, tax and marriage.
    Leader – Prime Minister


Australia maintains close ties with Britain and Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State.

All About Immigration | Sue Horne
bottom of page